A2 Main Production Brief

Today we have been given the brief for the media main production. It has consisted of 4 different tasks and they are a range of sub-tasks as well. The first one that was offered to us was the chance to do a promotion package for a new album that is going t be released. Along with this a music video with have to be included, followed by two of the three possible options:

  •  A website homepage for the band;
  • A cover for its release as part of a digipak (CD/DVD Package)
  • A magazine advertisement for the digipak (CD/DVD Package)

This is the same for all of the 4 options but I think that I am going to go with option 2. This task will consist of a teaser trailer for a new film being released. The type of genre that I am thinking about going for would be Action or Horror. During the next couple of weeks I will have to go into a lot of research for each genre so I can see the type of setting that they use and the locations in which they are set but also I would need to found out which one will be better and easier to film which will, ultimately make the production as a whole much better and more eye-catching/interesting for the audience. Furthermore the teaser film trailer will be accompanied with a homepage of a website and a poster to promote the film. To help me with deciding what genre to go with I will also be looking at some textual analysis as well. I will be looking at 5/6 film trailers ,that will be used in my final research and planning portfolio, and I will be going into great detail and I will be “picking” the trailer apart and analysing each individual thing just like I did with the similar media texts for my AS level.

I will be doing the research and the planning for the tasks and possibly the storyboard/script writing during the summer holidays and the reason for this will be because I want to make sure that I have all of the things planned and ready for September so that I can go and get going with the main production straight away. Also this will aid me because it means that I will be scheduled and have all of the different tasks planned out and ready to get going.

And so to conclude I think that I will be doing a film project with 1 or 2 other people in a group and the genre will be either action or horror. But I will need to do some research in the next 5 or 6 weeks to make sure that the success and construction of the project will be done to the best of mine and my groups ability so that we can achieve the highest possible grade at the end of it all. However after some careful consideration I tihnk I have decided to go with the genre of horror because I believe that we can really benefit from doing this type of genre.

Leave a Reply

